Hartford, Conn, (WTNH) — With the new year, comes new laws. About two dozen new laws took effect in the state on Jan. 1, 2020.
Five of the new laws that could have the biggest impact on your life:
Tax on goods and services
A new expansion on the sales tax will now mean goods and services like dry cleaning, laundry, and even parking will be taxed 6.35%.
The state expects the new tax to bring in about $25 million in 2020.
Boat registration tax
Perhaps you own a boat, next time you renew the registration you will see a new fee. The fee will help eliminate aquatic invasive species in bodies of water throughout Connecticut.
If your boat is in-state, you’ll have a $5 fee. Out-of-state boats will be charged $20. The new fee is estimated to raise about $500,000.
Extended license renewal
Connecticut drivers won’t need to make as many visits to the Department of Motor Vehicles. The new license renewal extension gives drivers two additional years, bumping the six-year renewal time to eight years.
There will also be an extension in time between registration renewals, by a year.
While it seems like a lot of money leaving the wallet, some people are going to be getting a tax break.
Business owners won’t need to pay the $250 entity tax every other year. The tax cut will cost the state $44 million.
Watch the video below to see why small businesses owners said it’s a step in the right direction:
No out of pocket expenses for breast ultrasounds and mammograms
While there are a few changes regarding health coverage, a big one has to do with mammograms.
Out of pocket expenses for breast ultrasounds and mammograms are now prohibited in Connecticut.
A full list of laws can be found online.