HARTFORD, Conn. (WTNH) — Connecticut will distribute federal COVID-19 relief funding to 27 towns and health departments across the state, splitting $13 million amongst them.

This comes as CT became the first state in the U.S. Monday to have half of all adults fully vaccinated against COVID-19. As of Monday, Governor Ned Lamont said 69% received their first dose.

“If we can get up to 80% instead of 70%, what a difference that makes,” Gov. Lamont said.

Now, the state is doing more by distributing these federally funded grants.

Related: CT officials move forward with banning flavored vapes, bill does include menthol cigarettes

It represents another way to ensure that people in underserved communities will have equal access to COVID-19 vaccinations.

“We’re trying everything we can,” Lamont said.  “As you saw, the number of new people getting vaccinated is not going up as quickly as it was a few weeks ago. We realize now we have to work a lot harder in underserved communities and young people. Everybody.”

Earlier this month, local health districts were directed to identify their community and provider partners and describe the activities that the partnerships would be undertaking to address vaccine equity in their coverage areas.

“It was really an open application process for any community looking for extra support,” Josh Geballe, the state’s Chief Operating Officer said. “To hire people to go door to door, to make phone calls.”

The governor said that sometimes it’s about access and outreach, and that’s what this is all about. The grant amounts for each recipient aren’t available at this time.

Here are the Municipalities and health departments scheduled to receiving funding:

  • Bridgeport
  • Bristol-Burlington
  • Chatham Health District
  • Chesprocott
  • Danbury
  • East Hartford
  • East Shore District
  • Farmington Valley (FVHD)
  • Hartford
  • Ledge Light
  • Meriden
  • Middletown
  • Milford
  • New Britain
  • New Haven
  • North Central
  • Northeast District
  • Norwalk
  • Quinnipiac (QVHD)
  • South Windsor
  • Stamford
  • Stratford
  • Torrington
  • Uncas
  • Waterbury
  • West Hartford-Bloomfield
  • Windsor